The Fire of Faith is the Love of God


The Fire of the Faith is the Love of God

King Saint Louis of France

As I approach sixty years on this earth I take time to reflect on my life most especially in context to my Faith. Though I’ve fought the battle of Faith throughout I’m astonished to realize that for the greater part of my life the Catholic Faith has been in turmoil and confusion. The changes of Vatican Council II, the revolutionary council of the revolutionary decade of the 1960’s, was being applied in the local parishes during my teenage years. Fortunately, I had gone through more than a decade of true Catholic formation before witnessing the innovations foisted upon an unsuspecting Faithful and knew in my spirit that such innovations were not, in fact, in accord with what had come before. Therefore, my spirit was restless and hungry for what was the true Faith and was now difficult to find. I sought out the most conservative of parishes to attend. As these changed, as they inevitably would, I would seek out other parishes where some semblance of the traditional Catholic Faith remained. Eventually, I learned of the work of Archbishop Lefebvre, of happy memory, and the mission of his Society of St. Pius X.

My first re-encounter with the Mass of the Ages, the Tridentine Mass, was an emotional experience and the best I can describe it was as if I were coming home after a long odyssey or pilgrimage of searching for true worship of God. I knew I was home once again!

With this rediscovery of the treasure of Faith, I saw how fragile, rare, and elusive our Catholic Faith is. I knew then that by our Baptism and more so by our Confirmation we are called, as soldiers of Christ, to defend His Church and I no longer took this obligation lightly. Filled with the fire that drove the Crusaders of old I resolved not to take for granted the Catholic Faith that was instilled in me, first by my parents and family and then by the selfless holy nuns, brothers, and priests who formed me over my Catholic education.

In looking back on these sixty years of life I came to realize that the Faith is not something that we do by rote, simply because we must or have been trained to do, but because of our love of God. In other words, that pilot light lit by my Baptism all those decades ago became a raging fire of Faith that, with the help of God’s grace, will not be extinguished.

At that point I further resolved that no man or organization of men would shake my tenacious hold on the true Catholic Faith. That I would test all the pronouncements of men, whether churchmen or laymen, against what had gone before; by this standard of the traditional Faith I would know the Truth.

I don’t think my journey unique or that I’m particularly holy, as all will see at the Final Judgment, but that many have had similar journeys of Faith and arrived at the same point, by the Grace of God. It is now up to each of us to keep that fire of Faith burning. In this regard is the below sermon presented by Fr. Joseph Pfeiffer, which illustrate in the story of King St. Louis of France, just what this fire means and what our obligations are as Faithful Catholics. All are urged to listen to this sermon of this brave priest.

Here is the web citation:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YW_ZJ7SFYAQ&feature=em-uploademail

Richard of Danbury, D.S.G.

About Catholic Rural Solutions

This group is for the practical application of Catholic Distributist teachings as promoted by Pope St. Pius X, Belloc, Chesterton, Maurin and others in the 20th century. This group is also a respite for traditional Catholics who adhere to the Tridentine Rite of the Holy Sacrifice of the Mass and who share a concern for small independent Catholic communities throughout the world. These communities while primarily small holding farmers, craftsmen and tradesman all espouse an integrated life based on Catholic Social Justice and the Sacred Magisterium of the Church. Through this we intend to inject the Distributist economic principles into the greater society. Please fell free to share your experiences in this vein. Flaming, proselytizing and persecution WILL NOT BE TOLERATED.
This entry was posted in The Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

