To Family, Friends, and Readership


To Family, Friends and Readership…

Generally speaking, throughout my life I’ve been inclined to follow a natural plan of living. From my gardening and animal raising as revealed in my Catholic Rural Solutions blog, I’ve emphasized organically grown and fresh harvested fruits and veggies when the season permits. Since I’m in northern latitude here in New England and have the additional feature of a north-sloped garden my most successful crops have been the greens and root crops. In retrospect and considering what I’m about to announce perhaps this was fortuitous, no, Providential!

It seems that I’ve been diagnosed with malignant melanoma and while I’ve had melanomas in the past, most have been excised with minor in-office procedures and that was that. This time is different in that this melanoma is very deep and appears to have metastasized to my lymph nodes and possibly other areas of my body.

Now as most of the readership of CRS and certainly my family and friends may have noted I’m a proactive and hands-on type of guy. When I take an interest in something it is a deep and abiding interest where I roll up my sleeves and git-r-dun. With such a crucial and vested interest lying at the threshold now, it is clear that I will not only take an active interest but direct all aspects of the options now before me. For better or worse it will be me that makes the decisions as to best course of action to take in the upcoming weeks. Of course, I will definitely consider the council of family, before all else in making my choices, but the ultimate responsibility will be mine and mine alone. I will also adequately consider the advice of the medical experts in this matter and at the same time pursue alternate medical therapies and procedures to arrive at a decision as to what is best for my situation.

While some may consider this direction as naïve and foolish let me just preface the remainder of this article with the fact that I was intimately involved with the cancers and deaths of three immediate family members and once a decision was made to go allopathic in relation to the medical protocols it largely precluded or limited to a great degree any alternative means of curing or limiting the cancer. It has also been my experience, both with other personal illnesses and those close to me, that you generally start with the least invasive and intrusive means and proceed to more radical methods, i.e. surgery, chemo, and / or radiation.

Since the revelation of the malignancy on late Friday March 6, 2015, I’ve done not only considerable consultations with doctors and naturopaths, but also considerable text and internet research. The allopathic protocols are generally, body scans, excision, biopsy, excision of all lymph nodes nearest the site, chemo and radiation… just to be sure. Obviously any adult knows of the downside to each and every one of the steps in this progression. Additionally, for malignant melanoma the current primary chemo protocol is to use a substance called Interferon. While interferon is a natural substance produced by the body in response to viral, bacterial, and other invasions of the body, including cancer, the Interferon used in melanoma protocol is a massive and powerful recombinant DNA structure that is more like a freak of nature rather than the originally and naturally produced interferon. This accounts for the fact that 70% of patients who use it have side effects ranging from mild to severe. In interviews I’ve personally conducted, those who have used it have been yella-dog sick for the entire course of time used; and the side effects are not pleasant at all ranging from digestive and breathing disorders to liver damage and even in some cases death. Admittedly, while I’ve not heard any personal experiences of death, liver damage is so prevalent that monitoring the liver and bilirubin goes on for months and sometimes even years after a course of this chemo… Yikes! Finally, Interferon does not kill cancer cells but merely, and theoretically, I might add, enhances and strengthens the body’s natural immune system. Logically then, why would you not start by using an alternative therapy that does the same but more gently with less harm to the overall body?

At any rate, while I’ve not yet definitively made up my mind as to the best course of action as of this writing, I’m leaning considerably toward the natural method. Even here the natural method will not be easy requiring much willpower of which I’m culpably deficient. Additionally, it will require the support and understanding of family and close friends, most especially at the beginning of this protocol where fasting is required which initially may affect mood for at least two weeks if not longer.

So there it is… I’ve bared my soul or quite literally my medical condition and I ask for everyone’s prayers, because that is the best medicine. Meantime, I resign my fate to God and hope that any suffering from this may alleviate any time I might spend in Purgatory for my current and past sins.

In view of the above I don’t believe there will be much time in the near term for my usual CRS fare, that is, homesteading, the Faith, etc. but I will update on occasion. Meantime, please continue the daily rosaries for the Consecration of Russia to the Immaculate Heart of Mary, because despite the everyday ups and downs of our individual lives it is important to see to the overall welfare of the human race and the world in general and this is only achieved by our recourse to God, His Church, and His Holy Mother, Mary.

Richard of Danbury, D.S.G.

About Catholic Rural Solutions

This group is for the practical application of Catholic Distributist teachings as promoted by Pope St. Pius X, Belloc, Chesterton, Maurin and others in the 20th century. This group is also a respite for traditional Catholics who adhere to the Tridentine Rite of the Holy Sacrifice of the Mass and who share a concern for small independent Catholic communities throughout the world. These communities while primarily small holding farmers, craftsmen and tradesman all espouse an integrated life based on Catholic Social Justice and the Sacred Magisterium of the Church. Through this we intend to inject the Distributist economic principles into the greater society. Please fell free to share your experiences in this vein. Flaming, proselytizing and persecution WILL NOT BE TOLERATED.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to To Family, Friends, and Readership

  1. Jennifer says:

    My prayers are with you! St. Peregrine, pray for us.

  2. Mary Gillman says:

    Dear Richard,

    I will certainly add you to my daily prayers. As a part of your consideration for alternative treatments, I cannot suggest forcefully enough that you research high dose Vitamin C as a start. Here are a couple of web sites: http://www.doctoryourself.com/ and http://www.orthomolecular.org/ (the second site has an excellent list of links for alternative treatments).

    From what I have read, it is an excellent idea to start immediately with high doses of Vitamin C and then go from there. It certainly won’t hurt.

    If there is any way I can be of assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

    In Christ and the Blessed Virgin, Mary Gillman St. Marys, KS

    mjgillman@sbcglobal.net

  3. Karen says:

    You are remembered in my prayers.

  4. nick says:

    Prayers for you Richard.

Leave a Reply

