Melanoma II


Melanoma II
As a follow-up to the latest post of March 14, 2015, I’ve completed the operation to excise the remaining tumor site and remove and biopsy the sentinel node; both results manifested that the tumor has not metastasized, Deo Gratius! I believe this was largely due to the prayers of friends, the readers of CRS, and many, many well-wishers. Clearly the power of prayer is oft given short shrift in our contemporary society. I’m especially grateful to all who forwarded articles, gave advice, and relayed narratives about their own experiences with cancer … most especially melanoma. It is heart-warming to note that when things look bad good friends step forward to offer support as needed.
Meantime, though I’ve a clean bill of health regarding the spreading of the cancer within my system, the allopathic doctors unanimously agree that I must have chemo, (they’ve relented on the radiation), as a belt and suspenders approach to any occult melanoma cells coursing through my body. While I have an attitude of “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it”, I believe that something further must be done to preempt any spread of the disease. Chemo, IMHO, is a more radical approach than I wish to undertake at this time. I believe that a less invasive modality is proper, especially considering the clear prognosis of my illness. I also firmly believe that given the chance the body can be the primary source of recovery from illness providing the immune system is healthy and properly functioning. This was by design by the Grand Designer! Therefore, I’ve decided to go with the alternative method involving more of a nutritive and cleansing approach based predominantly, not exclusively, on the Gerson Therapy. The goal is to boost my own immune system to fight cancer cells, if any, still remaining in the system. In addition, many of the supplements themselves have cancer fighting characteristics which enhance the overall approach. This entails a complete change of lifestyle and diet over the remaining course of my life. Initially it requires a very intensive and aggressive approach to detox and balance of my system and metabolism, thus the long interlude between this post and my last. The initial phase requires anywhere from 3 to 10 weeks after a prerequisite period of testing and lab analysis, as well as, assembling of the nutritional supplements. At the beginning the procedures seem cumbersome and time consuming, but as routine is established and a schedule followed it becomes easier and easier. Already underway is a juicing regime along with eliminating, at least temporarily, all meat based proteins. Rest assured that I’m progressing under the supervision of a naturopathic physician whose specialty is cancer. She worked for an extensive time with the Cancer Centers of America, who themselves use alternative, as well as, allopathic methods. She also works alongside an MD who can provide any prescriptions or procedures reserved to licensed medical doctors. In the meantime, I recuperate and heal from the more than expected incision and surgery. The scar is at least 12 inches and has a very intricate pattern … essentially I was carved up like an Easter ham just in time for the great holiday. Amasingly, I felt no pain whatsoever! On speaking with the surgeon he removed a large “chunk” of my flesh and likely also removed the nerve that signals pain to the areas involved. The insision starts at my lower back, proceeds up my side to my armpit, then comes down again to the level of the start. There is also a four inch tail at the top which proceeds onto my left chest area. All in all, it was quite extensive but as usual I’m healing quickly.  This latest surgery is but the last in a long history of surgeries starting in infancy and moving forward at regular intervals. hernias, appendectomy, tonsils, torn rotator cuff, just to name a few! Indeed, I tell my wife that when they dig my mummy up in two thousand years they will erect great monuments to an obviously great warrior.
Again, many thanks to all for your prayers and comfort; and I will keep you all appraised of the course of my therapy as time goes on.
Please keep up the Rosaries for the Consecration of Russia as this is our last recourse.

Richard of Danbury, D.S.G.

About Catholic Rural Solutions

This group is for the practical application of Catholic Distributist teachings as promoted by Pope St. Pius X, Belloc, Chesterton, Maurin and others in the 20th century. This group is also a respite for traditional Catholics who adhere to the Tridentine Rite of the Holy Sacrifice of the Mass and who share a concern for small independent Catholic communities throughout the world. These communities while primarily small holding farmers, craftsmen and tradesman all espouse an integrated life based on Catholic Social Justice and the Sacred Magisterium of the Church. Through this we intend to inject the Distributist economic principles into the greater society. Please fell free to share your experiences in this vein. Flaming, proselytizing and persecution WILL NOT BE TOLERATED.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

